© Copyright Powerwatch 2024

Powerwatch Forums - View Thread - Help to blow away this smokescreen

[Back to Forums Main Index]
[Back to Powerwatch Open Forum Index]

Help to blow away this smokescreen

Post Time: 29/01/2009 20:02:32
Eli
Total Forum Posts: 7
Below is a letter submitted to the Melton Times, regarding us 'idiot' phone mast protestors! Penned by someone who works for the industry (surprise, surprise!) Can anyone help us debunk his theories?! Thanks.

Get the facts

I WRITE in response to the article 'We will block phone mast' (Melton Times, last week). I work in the telecommunications industry and I will not use this as a vehicle to lecture anybody about radio-frequency (RF), the electromagnetic spectrum or the difference between ionising radiation and non- ionising radiation.
I would, however, like the people who are protesting against the radio base station which is to be built at Grange Drive to do a little fact finding before making outlandish claims. The protesters should ask themselves the following:-
Are they awarADVERTISEMENTe how little amount of RF energy is given off at these base stations, especially in areas where the public will be able to gain access?
Are they aware the RF energy given off by these base stations is non-ionising and NOT ionising radiation and that the mobile phone network transmits within the same spectrum as the television, radar and satellite frequencies and sits in between these?
Are they aware that we are all surrounded by RF energy on a daily basis regardless of the mobile phone network. Mobile phones, Wireless broadband routers and computer consoles to name but a few items all operate using non- ionising frequencies. Most appliances give off some amount of RF energy including your TV, microwave and refrigerator